White Chocolate Peanut Butter Popcorn

Tis the season to be jolly! And if by being jolly you mean eating approximately 10,000 calories daily of Christmas cookies and assorted holiday desserts, then I am your poster girl for jolly. Ooof.

So as I sit here munching on the latkes my roommate’s mother sent over, it occurs to me that you probably have some sort of New Year’s plans. Maybe you’re going to a big fancy party. Or maybe you’re hosting one (good luck and godspeed)! Or maybe you’re just going to sit on your couch under a warm fuzzy blanket, watch the ball drop behind Ryan Seacrest’s increasingly surgically altered profile, and fall asleep at 12:03. In any event, you’re gonna need something to nosh on, no?

That’s what I thought.

This popcorn is honest-to-goodness addicting. I made a batch for a holiday cookie swap I hosted for some of my high school friends (yes, they knew me in my formative [read: most awkward] years and still associate with me), and it was a huge hit. I scraped the bowl as I was making it, ate muuuuch more than a few “test” handfuls, and kept sneaking bites when I went back to the kitchen to refill my snack bowls. You have been warned.

(Oh, and if you’re curious, I made a batch of these bad boys for the swap. Death by chocolate!)

White Chocolate Peanut Butter Popcorn

Ingredients:

  • 1 package microwave popcorn, plain or natural flavored (not buttered)
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips, plus 1/4 cup
  • 1/2 cup smooth peanut butter

1. Pop popcorn as directed on package. Pour into a bowl, separating any unpopped kernels. Allow popcorn to cool for 10-15 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, in a double boiler or in a microwave-safe bowl, melt white chocolate chips. If microwaving, heat chips on 50% power in 30-second intervals, stirring in between. Be careful not to overheat the chocolate! Once it seizes up, it will be very difficult to drizzle over the popcorn. My chips only took about a minute to heat enough to melt–make sure you stir for quite a while, since the heat continues to work its way throughout the chips for several seconds after they’re removed from the microwave.

3. Pour white chocolate over the popcorn and stir to combine.

4. Heat 1/2 cup of peanut butter in the microwave for 30 seconds. Pour over chocolate-y popcorn and stir again.

5. Spread a sheet of wax paper on a cookie sheet or flat counter space and arrange popcorn in a layer on top of it.

6. Melt the remaining 1/4 cup of white chocolate chips and drizzle on top of the popcorn mixture. Place wax paper in the fridge to set popcorn, about 30 minutes.

I’m so grateful to all of the wonderful people out there who helped my little blog grow as much as it did in 2011, and I can’t wait to see what the next year will bring. Best wishes for a happy and healthy 2012!


44 thoughts on “White Chocolate Peanut Butter Popcorn

  1. I’m not the biggest fan of popcorn. It’s not that I don’t like it really, I just would rather have something else most of the time. But holy crap this is covered in peanut butter and white chocolate? Now I want nothing else.

    • I’m completely the same way with popcorn–I always opt for other snacks, even at the movies. But when you slather it up in chocolate pb deliciousness, I literally cannot say no. It must be the salty-sweet thing!

  2. This popcorn looks so delicious. I love salty snacks with a hint of sweetness.

    This is my first time visiting your blog and I like the recipes to you post. I will be back soon! :)

  3. Oh my god, I am drooling. White chocolate and peanut butter over popcorn sounds utterly addicting. I used to like popcorn, when it was super hot, so I could dump in a bag of M&M’s. So good. Can’t wait to try this and thank you for participating in the Holiday Recipe Club :D

    • Oh man that is a great idea–I’ve never thought to dump M&Ms or other candy in the popcorn bag while it’s still hot! (And this begs the question, how did a chocoholic like me not think of that??)

      Thank you for organizing! I hope we can put together another one soon.

  4. Oh man, that sounds absolutely incredible. It’s the peanut butter that really puts it over the edge in my book! I bet it’d be great with dark chocolate, too.

  5. Pingback: Sweet Sixteen: Popcorn | Metro Gallery

Leave a Reply

