Peanut Butter Raisin Oatmeal

Rise and shine, darlings!

Oh wait, you’re not morning people? Sorry. I am in possession of the often-unfortunate quality of being one of those people who functions best in the early hours. I say “often-unfortunate” because it’s my experience that the general population loathes morning people. They resent–perfectly understandably, in my opinion–bright, perky, caffeinated efficiency before their neurons have had a chance to get properly kickstarted.

So I’ve taught myself to be a quiet morning person. I might pop up right when my alarm goes off, head to the gym, and put away all the dry dishes before 7:30 am…but I’m sure as heck not gonna rub it in your face. Instead, I’ll just set this delicious bowl of oatmeal in front of you and hope that the wafting scents of peanut butter, cinnamon, and vanilla will make you forget that you wanted to pull the covers back over your head ten minutes ago.

In all seriousness, I think we’re aware of the love affair I have with breakfast (I even wrote a whole post on it over at Small Kitchen College this week). So how on earth have I not posted about my go-to comfort breakfast yet?

I always swore I’d never like oatmeal. Pale, mostly sugarless hot cereal(-ish)? No way. …yeah, except for now I’m already excited about my oatmeal on my walk back from the gym. Turns out that it’s all about the toppings!!

Peanut Butter Raisin Oatmeal
(My Go-To Comfort Breakfast)

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup skim milk
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
  • Pinch of cinnamon
  • Dash of vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter (Right now I’m all about Peanut Butter & Co‘s Dark Chocolate Dreams)
  • 1 handful raisins
  • 1 handful chopped walnuts
  • Sprinkling of granola or dry cereal

(All of the toppings are optional! Feel free to omit some, add lots of others, or add new things altogether–this oatmeal is your oyster. Except for not, because that’d be gross.)

Seriously. In. Love.

1. In a small pot or saucepan, bring milk and water to a boil over medium heat.
2. Add oats and reduce heat to low. Stir in cinnamon and vanilla.
3. Allow oats to simmer, stirring occasionally, until liquid is mostly absorbed–about five minutes.
4. Turn off the heat and pour oatmeal into a bowl. Top with peanut butter, raisins, walnuts, and/or granola or cereal. Stir to combine, until peanut butter has melted into oatmeal and is distributed throughout.
5. Dig in and enjoy the peanut buttery oatmeal goodness!

9 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Raisin Oatmeal

  1. i’m a morning person, too! i get up early, without an alarm, every day + am most productive in the morning. by the early evening, i’m already thinking about hitting the hay early. =) this oatmeal looks awesome – will definitely have to try it!

  2. I definitely don’t pop up right when the alarm goes off, but once I’m out of bed, I feel awake and totally become a morning person. Also…a breakfast like this would be a definite motivator to begin the day :)

  3. Okay, you’ve convinced me! I’m not an oatmeal gal but your bowl looks VERY VERY good. Thank you for sharing, and reminding me why breakfast can be the best meal of the day.

  4. Thanks for sharing, I was experimenting the other day using peanut butter, oats, raisins, some other nuts and seeds, a wee little bit of butter and was just stirring it in the pan to try and cook the oats.. it was pretty nice but quite dry at times. I didn’t even know you could get peanut butter blended with dark chocolate :) I wonder if they sell it here in NZ yo?

Leave a Reply

