Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffin Bread

What is a ghost’s favorite dessert?

Booooooberry pie!

When I was in elementary school, my mom would put a handwritten note in my lunchbox every day, and she always included a joke like the one above. Needless to say I was the most popular girl at the lunch table (at least that’s what I tell her). And if you ever need some excellent riddles, I’m totally the one you should call.

Where was I? Oh. Right. Blueberries.

So, last week, I happened to walk past one of my favorite fruit stands after work. This guy always has the best prices for fruit they charge me an arm and a leg for in the grocery store, and this day was no exception. A pint of blueberries for one dollar?! Those berries and I were outta there like 90s-era Sonic the Hedgehog (please tell me someone else had Sega Genesis).

After dumping a healthy fistful in my breakfast oats the next morning, I knew I had to do something with this glorious bounty. And then it hit me…Jessica‘s Blueberry Muffin Bread.

Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffin Bread
Just barely adapted from How Sweet Eats

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2/3 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 cup (8 tbsp) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries, tossed in ~3 tbsp of cornstarch

For streusel:

  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 tbsp skim milk

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and spray a 9×5″ loaf pan with cooking spray.
2. In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together flours, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Set aside.
3. In a separate, larger bowl, whisk egg and sugars together until combined. Add in vanilla extract and then milk, continuing to whisk until incorporated.
4. Gradually add dry ingredients to wet, now mixing with a spoon until a sticky, pliable dough forms. Add the melted butter and mix until fully combined.
5. Fold in the blueberries–gently, or they’ll burst!
6. Transfer dough into greased pan and spread evenly with a spatula.
7. In a small bowl, mix together streusel ingredients and sprinkle on top of your bread dough/batter.
8. Bake for about 55 minutes, or until a tester inserted into the center of your loaf comes out clean. Let cool for 15-20 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

This may or may not be even more delicious when served warm with a big ol’ scoop of Moose Tracks ice cream melting on top. Not that I’d know from experience or anything.

P.S. I updated my About Me page last night! I’d love to know what you think if you have a chance to stop by. :)

13 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffin Bread

  1. Completely can’t help myself but be a bit biased towards your name. ☺ — How do you pronounce it? Mine is like “Tarzan” – also have serious hair envy going on here. Love the pretty locks. – third, I’ll make coffee and tea if you have butter to go with that bread. ☀

    • Wow, I’ve never heard that pronunciation for our name! Mine would rhyme with “O’Hara”–really short ‘a’ sound. But that doesn’t stop most people from getting it wrong! :) And you’re totally welcome to come over for tea and blueberry bread any time, yummm.

Leave a Reply

