Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies (My Hurricane Stash)

Well, hi there. How are you doing? It’s been two days since Hurricane Sandy blew out of the tristate, but the New York metro area is definitely still feeling its effects. I was one of the very, very lucky ones who did not lose power throughout the storm, but my hometown is completely in the dark with multiple trees fallen on every street. I’ve been able to keep in touch with my family periodically, and my parents have a small generator they’ve been using to run the fridge, but things are definitely messy.

With that said, it’s nothing compared to what residents of parts of Long Island, the Jersey shore and Breezy Point are dealing with at the moment. Please keep the millions affected in your thoughts and prayers–rebuilding is happening, and we’re a resilient bunch, but this storm touched so many.

On a bit of a lighter note, since I didn’t have anything to do for two days except peek fearfully out my window, I did a lot of baking.

Day 1 was cookie day. I was totally smitten with Jessica’s cookies…but I’d been thinking more about stocking up on batteries, lanterns, and bottled water than baking ingredients when I was shopping. So I went with the ingredients I had, making these cookies a touch less healthy by using all butter instead of half Greek yogurt (I’m sure you’ll all forgive me). I was out of granulated sugar(?!) so a mix of browns it was, and chocolate chips replaced the white/cranberry combo. The result, if my storm-weathered coworkers’ reaction was any indication, was a huge success. :)

But before I give you the recipe, I’ve got to tell you what I did on Day 2…

Shelly’s glazed pumpkin shortbread!! I followed this recipe exactly, except for using an 8-inch cake pan instead of a tart pan, and I can’t say enough about it. Perfect with a cup of tea or coffee on a chilly, overcast morning.

As my roommate and I can certainly attest, there’s something about being housebound that makes you ravenous. Even if the skies have been sunny near you, I’m willing to bet you have an unused can of pumpkin in your pantry. Use that up. ;)

Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted from A Kitchen Addiction

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1/2 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tbsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup milk chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line a 9×13 cookie sheet with a Silpat or parchment paper.
2. In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together flour, oats, baking soda, salt, and pumpkin pie spice. Set aside.
3. In another medium-sized bowl, cream butter and sugars with a wooden spoon until smooth. Mix in egg until combined, then add pumpkin and vanilla and stir in.
4. Add the dry ingredients slowly, stirring to combine but not overmixing. Fold in chocolate chips.
5. Arrange dough by tablespoon-fuls on the cookie sheets and bake for about 9 minutes, until the edges of the cookies start to firm up and tops are set.
6. Allow cookies to cool on sheet for five minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

Makes 2 dozen cookies. Store leftover cookies in an airtight container.

12 thoughts on “Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies (My Hurricane Stash)

  1. Glad to hear you’re ok & that you didn’t lose power after all! It’s scary though, isn’t it? We just moved from FL a few months ago & those hurricanes & tropical storms can be freaky sometimes. Those cookies sound sooo good! I’m pretty much obsessed with anything pumpkin. ;)

Leave a Reply

