Butterscotch Chocolate Chip Cookies–Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2012

swap

More cookies!! I told you it’s my favorite time of the year. :)

So, last year I went light and bright with my flavors for the Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap…but this year, we went deep, dark, and chocolatey!

cookies_chocbsco2A

I managed to overcome my cookie coma after the NYC Cookie Swap to make three batches of these bad boys. As I danced around my kitchen, singing Mariah Carey at the top of my lungs (good thing my roommate wasn’t home) and getting flour all over myself and my laptop, I was reminded of just how much I love Christmas cookie baking season.

And check out these adorable boxes!

polkadots

myboxes

I hope Carrie, Cayla, and Melissa enjoyed these sweet treats–I sure enjoyed making them (and eating my fair share of “stray” cookie dough while I did so).

cookies_chocbsco

Butterscotch Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature (I used Kerrygold)
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup butterscotch chips
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (I used a mixture of Hershey’s dark and Ghirardelli semisweet)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line a baking sheet with a Silpat or parchment paper.
2. In a large bowl, whisk together flours, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter and sugars on medium speed until creamy. Add the eggs and vanilla and continue to mix until fully incorporated.
4. Add in your dry ingredients and beat until just combined. Fold in the chips with a spatula.
5. Drop scoops of dough (about 1 1/2 tbsp) on cookie sheet and bake for 10-11 minutes, until the edges just begin to darken and tops are no longer sticky.
6. Allow to cool on baking sheet for 2 minutes, then remove to a wire rack to cool completely. Store cookies in an airtight container for 4-5 days.

Makes approximately 40 cookies.

As for me? I was lucky enough to receive cookies from Lindsay herself!

lindsayscookies

As well as some adorable homemade Peppermint Joe-Joe’s from Kelly–so funny that we just met for real at the NYC Cookie Swap and she knew I was her cookie match!

kellyscookies

I still haven’t received my third box, but hopefully it’ll be on its way soon. :)

Don’t forget to check out Lindsay and Julie’s round-ups of all the Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap posts. I’m sure you’ll be adding plenty of these tasty recipes to your list, whether for this year or next.

Happy cookie holidays!

11 thoughts on “Butterscotch Chocolate Chip Cookies–Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2012

  1. Pingback: The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2012: Clove Crisps | - The Baked Equation

Leave a Reply

