Gingerbread Scones

The holiday blog hop is here once more! This time, we were tasked with creating something delicious with peppermint, gingerbread, or eggnog. What’s a baker to do?

Okay, well I’ll be honest. I’m not a huge fan of peppermint. Erin and I are in agreement that there are many other desserts we’d rather stuff our faces with. And eggnog? Eeeh it’s always just a bit too cloying for me. The only way you’ll get me to consume eggnog is by sticking a bowl of Trader Joe’s eggnog-chocolate-covered almonds in front of me. Then, all bets are off.

So, gingerbread it was!

Frankly, there have been far too many cookies in my life lately for me to even consider creating some form of gingerbread cookie. And we all know how I adore breakfast…solution? Scones.

Okay, time to get real. I was really excited about these scones–I had visions of gingerbready goodness, the spices and flavors of the holidays all coming together in one little crusty-on-the-outside pillowy-on-the-inside breakfast morsel.

And then…I didn’t like them. Argh! They look like scones, and they baked like scones, but…they were missing that certain je ne sais quoi. For one thing, the ginger flavor didn’t come through strong enough–I wanted a spicy kick, but these just hinted at holiday tang. And even though I’m usually a huge proponent of subbing whole wheat flour, I think that in this case its nutty denseness, combined with a fairly low addition of sugar, made these a bit blander than they had any business being.

I had every intention of baking these again before the blog hop posts went live, was determined to have spicy delicious gingerbread scones to show for myself. And then…I wound up in a doctor’s office with an infection that needed fairly immediate attention. (You know that saying about how when you make plans, God laughs? Yeah, God’s getting some belly laughs in on my behalf right now.) It wasn’t anything terribly serious, and I think that all the couch-lounging and TV-surfing I did upon returning home will do the trick (oh yeah, and the extra strength painkillers), but suffice it to say that nothing was getting baked that night.

Here is the recipe I used–and below you’ll find what I would have done differently. (Thank goodness for Adriana for reminding me just this week that kitchen flops are a part of blogger life!)

Gingerbread Scones

Adapted from Dinner for Two

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, plus 3 tablespoons
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 3 tbsp light brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 1/2 tbsp cold unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup milk

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F and grease a small baking sheet.

2. In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, salt, sugar, and spices.

3. Add butter and cut into the mixture using a pastry cutter (or your fingers). Continue combining until the butter is evenly distributed in pieces the size of rice grains.

4. Add the milk and stir until just combined.

5. Turn the dough out onto a floured cutting board and knead several times until the (sticky) dough is fully combined. Shape into a log about 6 inches long, then cut in half. Place the two halves on the baking sheet about 5 inches apart.

6. Brush the tops of the scones with more milk and bake for 13-14 minutes, or until the bottom edges start to brown.

7. Remove from oven and let cool completely on a wire rack.

What I Would Have Done Differently (or will do, since I intend to conquer these scones eventually!)

  • Increase the addition of spices–I’d probably go for a tablespoon of ginger and a full teaspoon of cinnamon at the least.
  • Use a combination of all-purpose and whole wheat flour–perhaps a 1/4 cup of each so that the scone wouldn’t turn out too dense and heavy.
  • Either increase the amount of brown sugar in the dough or use a combination of granulate sugar and brown sugar–I definitely thought the scones could have used a bit more sweetness.
  • To that effect, maybe add in a touch of honey or molasses–both to add to the sweetness of the scone and to get a bit more of a spicy/gingerbready flavor going.

I’d love to hear any suggestions you have! And don’t forget to check out my fellow bloggers’ creations. 🙂

28 thoughts on “Gingerbread Scones

  1. These look good to me! I am glad you decided to post them too. I had been thinking gingerbread scones but now I want to try your adjusted recipe! I think honey sounds like a wonderful idea too.

  2. Haha just say no to peppermint! And I’m with you on the eggnog too, but I actually haven’t had it since my younger years of picky eating so maybe I won’t be so anti-eggnog? But I am completely obsessed with gingerbread this year. Yet have also been overwhelmed by cookies lately (and sweets in general) so I went for a breakfast option too! We are totally on the same wavelength today :-).

    • I suppose I actually need to try this eggnog thing straight up, as opposed to mixed into various creations, before I actually deem myself an eggnog-hater. Sigh! Maybe one of these recipes will bring me around…

    • I love scones because I can have them for breakfast orrrr dessert. Bahah. True of most breakfast foods, really! I’m in love with your cookies–they have me craving gingersnaps even though I’ve basically eaten sweets for every meal today so far…

    • Oh my gosh, I do the SAME thing. Especially with “hot” spices like chili powder and red pepper flakes–I am always worried it’ll be too spicy for me to handle…then I wind up with bland chili / enchiladas / insertspicyfoodhere. I need to just bite the bullet and be brave!

  3. I’ve had a couple of not-so-good results with recipes. I’m glad to see another blogger who is willing to put the truth out there instead of trying to be “everything I do is perfect”. Enjoying connecting with you through the blog hop.

    • Thanks, Renee–I definitely was feeling the pressure to make this post a “everything-turned-out-perfect-no-mistakes-here!” but Erin (Big Fat Baker Erin, as opposed to the zillion other Erins in this hop) encouraged me to be real about it and think about what I’d change. I’m really happy with how the post turned out!

  4. I am glad you are feeling better! I’m a huge peppermint lover in December, but keep telling myself I need to make something gingerbread flavored…I love the thought of scones. In the past, when mine seemed just “meh,” I created a glaze to spice them up. Maybe it’d be worth trying here?

    • Thank you! I definitely wasn’t sure how it would go over, but I think it was the right choice–and I think we all know that we’ve had flops every so often, no matter how experienced we are! 🙂

  5. Thanks so much for your honesty. I just did a latke post on pbfingers.com, and burnt the first batch to a crisp, and almost cried. Thankfully, my partner cooked the rest of the batter and helped me form them so they wouldn’t set the house on fire. We all make mistakes, and to be honest, sometimes the burnt parts taste the best. Have a rockin’ day!

    • Kat, thank you so much for your comment. I actually just read your latke post over on Julie’s site yesterday and remarked to myself how wonderful it was–and you know what, in a way it’s really heartening to know that a seasoned blogger like you runs into some kitchen troubles sometimes! (Also I’ve been craving latkes ever since; random tidbit. :))

Leave a Reply

