Two-Bean Turkey Chili with Sweet Potatoes

Is anybody else in a constant battle with their internal body temperature?

By that I mean, does anybody else don hoodies when it’s 85 degrees outside? Or find themselves adding layer after layer after layer in the winter months, but to no avail? I’m convinced that somehow, I’m part cold-blooded creature. I so wish Snuggies were office-appropriate.

It was a whopping 17 degrees here in New York on Tuesday. Add in the wind chill, and we were looking at temperatures juuuust above zero. (Is this how all of you Canadians feel?) So despite the fact that I needed to do laundry like nobody’s business, there was no. way. I was venturing out of my apartment again once I got home from work. All I wanted was to curl up on my couch and watch the DVRed season premiere of The Bachelor and eat something warm, cozy, and comforting.

Enter this chili.

 

This was everything I could have asked for and more on a frigid winter night. A hint of sweetness from the tender potatoes, heartiness and texture from the beans, and a swift kick of spice from the chili and red pepper flakes–plus holding the bowl on my lap aided in the defrosting process.

And even though my laundry may not have gotten done for a few more days, I’d say it was worth it. (To those who say that my ratty, faded high school boxer shorts should never be worn to the gym, I say, “Desperate times call for desperate measures.”)

Two-Bean Turkey Chili with Sweet Potatoes

Adapted from Farmgirl Gourmet

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 large yellow onion, diced
  • 1 large red pepper, diced
  • 3 large garlic cloves, coarsely chopped
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 big pinch crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 1/2 lb ground turkey (97% lean)
  • 2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped into 2-inch chunks
  • 1 15-oz can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 15-oz can great northern beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 28-oz can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 28 oz can low-sodium chicken stock (fill after adding tomatoes)
  • Ground black pepper (optional)
  • Grated cheese (optional; chedder or a four-cheese blend would be nice options)

1. In a large pot, add the oil and heat over medium-high heat.

2. Add onions and red pepper and cook for 5-6 minutes, until the onions are translucent and soft.

3. Add the garlic, chili powder, cumin, and red pepper flakes, and stir to combine.

4. Add the ground turkey and cook, stirring occasionally, until turkey is no longer pink, about 10 minutes.

5. Add the sweet potatoes, beans, crushed tomatoes, and chicken stock, and stir. Cook for about 30 minutes, or until chili begins to thicken.

6. Season with black pepper and sprinkle with grated cheese for serving, if desired.

Maybe enjoy your chili with a lovely adult beverage like this, if you’re feelin’ classy. πŸ˜‰

14 thoughts on “Two-Bean Turkey Chili with Sweet Potatoes

  1. Hahaha! You described me to a “T”!!!! I have an ongoing thing that if it is not 85 degrees (inside, outside, wherever….) that I am cold! No joke! It has been in the low 80s here in SoCal and I have still been driving with my heater on at lunch time!!! It has yet to reach 85! But your chili looks amazing and I am going to have to try it!!!!!

  2. How about you make things, get on a train, bring them to me at which point I will take a photo and then consume said food. Also I’ve been curled up in a blanket with a space heater refusing to leave my apartment. Heat was so much nicer in college when we didn’t have to pay for it ;-(

    • I’m sure it’d be okay! You won’t get the same sweet flavor that sweet potatoes have, obviously, but the texture and thickness the potatoes give will still be there if you use regular white/yellow potatoes. πŸ™‚ I hope you enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

