Mini Peanut Butter Cup Cheesecakes

Okay, so first off: Christmas was only like three weeks ago?! What the what? Does anybody else feel like it’s been forever already?

Secondly. Let’s talk cards. The Hallmark kind–the ones you get for any occasion from anniversaries to Secretaries’ Day. I’m usually very good with cards. I put thought into the selection, write a heartfelt message, maybe even have a holiday-appropriate sticker on hand to seal the envelope.

But this Christmas…yeah, I didn’t get Charlie a card. Christmas cards are totally optional, I told myself. It’s not like birthdays or even something like a graduation where the card is a vehicle for the message. Besides, boys don’t care about cards!

Oops.

I’m sure you guessed–Charlie did get me a Christmas card. It had a duck with a Santa hat on the front. And inside was his version of the Twelve Days of Christmas, all pertaining to our relationship.

Epic girlfriend fail.

So this weekend, when I went to visit him for his birthday, I was determined not to fail again! I went out during my lunch break, scoured the card selection at two different stores, and finally picked a quirky, kind of nonsensical card I knew he’d like (it had penguins on it, if you’re curious). I got on the train, relieved in my jubilation.

And then I didn’t have a pen in my purse.

Y’know what, I totally brought him a dozen of these mini peanut butter cup cheesecakes, so I think that’s better than a stupid card anyway.

Mini Peanut Butter Cup Cheesecakes

Adapted from Just Everyday Me

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup graham cracker crumbs, crushed (4-5 sheets)
  • 1 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 3 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 8-oz packages 1/3-less fat cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 12-15 bite-sized peanut butter cups (not minis)
  • 1/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line a cupcake tin with paper liners.

2. If you have a food processor, crush up your graham crackers into fine crumbs. If you don’t, stick ’em in a Ziploc bag and whack the bag against a table, creating crumbs and taking out your frustration from the work day at the same time. Efficiency.

3. Combine graham cracker crumbs, 1 tbsp granulated sugar, and melted butter in a small bowl. Mix with a fork to combine until crumb mixture is completely moistened.

4. Press a layer of crumbs into the bottom of each cupcake liner, about half an inch in each. Unwrap mini peanut butter cups and place one in each muffin tin, on top of the crust layer in the center of the well.

5. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat cream cheese, peanut butter, the rest of the granulated sugar, flour, and vanilla on medium speed until fully incorporated. The mixture will be creamy but not overly thick.

6. Beat in one egg at a time and continue to mix, incorporating the eggs.

7. Use a large spoon to dollop the mixture into the liners on top of the crumb crusts and around the peanut butter cups. These cheesecakes will not rise that much, so fill the liners all the way to the top!

8. Bake for 18-20 minutes (mine took 18 exactly), until the cheesecakes are set (not jiggly) but the tops are still soft and slightly moist to the touch. Let cool in muffin tins for 5-10 minutes, then transfer to wire racks to cool completely.

9. While cheesecakes are cooling, melt chocolate chips in a microwave-safe bowl on 50% power in 30-second intervals, stirring after each–don’t overheat, or you’ll burn the chocolate! (Clearly I know from experience.) Use a fork to drizzle the melted chocolate over the tops of the cooled cheesecakes.

10. Refrigerate cheesecakes for several hours, overnight if possible.

Makes 16 mini cheesecakes.

Tara: 1. Hallmark: 0.

32 thoughts on “Mini Peanut Butter Cup Cheesecakes

  1. Daaawh, you poor thing. I totally feel you though, I’ve found myself without a pen at a bad time one tooo many times, so now I just keep a stash permanently in my purse. As for these little cheesecakes… oh my word. I think I may need to break out my stretchy pants just for staring at these too long. 😉

  2. I have similar girlfriend fails all the time – like when I thought we weren’t doing anniversary presents and he got me a beautiful necklace and bracelet. Oops. I think these little cheesecakes are way better than a card though. I love the little surprise in the middle!

  3. I love this idea. I just made cheesecake cups that had vanilla cognac in them, but I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE peanut butter cups, so this might have to be my next big adventure. But I will have to make them a Gluten Free version so I can eat them. Great job!
    Michelle (aka – glutenfreegabber)

  4. O dear god. What happened to my peanut butter fearing roommate? Somewhere along the way, the Gallen girls created a monster. NOW can you please come bake at my place? You know you love the burbs and I’m too broke to invest in a train ticket.

  5. Oh. My. GOODNESS. These look absolutely fantastic!!! I’ve only recently starting eating cheesecake, I had never really tried it before. The PB cups are such a great twist on it!

  6. Lol, he’ll forget about the card – -these cheesecakes though, common – he won’t forget about these. Does it get any better than a peanutbutter stuffed cheesecake, nope. I think you’re a pretty snazzy girlfriend for making these lol.

  7. I’m usually good about cards too but totally forgot to get my husband one this year. Ooops!! Oh well, these definitely make up for any card mistakes – they look so decadent!! 🙂

  8. Oh man! These look delish! Funny I didn’t even know it was Nationa Peanut Butter Day until I started seeing it posted everywhere. After all I’m Peanut Butter and Peppers and I didn’t know. Figures, I actually made a Peanut Butter dessert last night that I’m posting for tomorrow. Dam! I plan on making your cupcakes this weekend! They look wonderful! I have yet to make PB cupcakes and it’s on my bucklist for 2012! 🙂

  9. these look SOOO great! peanut butter is one of my downfalls. I have to get the smallest possible container or I’ll eat it all in one sitting. literally.
    have a great day!
    xo,
    mini baker

  10. Pingback: Peanut Butter & Chocolate Recipe Roundup | The Spiffy Cookie

  11. Pingback: Guest Post: Brownie Cookie Surprise Cake by Chip Chip Hooray | The Spiffy Cookie

Leave a Reply

