March Foodie Pen Pals Reveal!

Woohoo, it’s time for month 2 of my Foodie Pen Pals adventures!

This month I was lucky enough to receive a package from Alice, who’s not a blogger but who takes her job as a foodie very, very seriously. 🙂

When Alice heard that I was interested in learning to cook with more healthy food staples–but was having trouble finding them in my smaller local grocery stores–she stepped up to save the day.

I was excited to discover a bag of tricolor quinoa as well as some flax meal. I’ve already cooked up some of the quinoa to have on hand for weeknight meals, and I can’t wait to make granola or homemade energy bars with the flax meal. Plus, Alice included three of her favorite quinoa recipes–even one for quinoa cookies!

Also included in my package were a bunch of different flavored teas (I drink tea like it’s goin’ out of style) and three types of Newman’s own chocolate cups. Caramel, peppermint, and peanut butter, heck yes.

Oh yeah…not pictured is a delicious cherry/chocolate/chia seed granola bar. It got gobbled up right away as post-half-marathon refueling. 😉

(My pen pal match was a blogger this month! Make sure you go show Britt at The Healthy Living Chick some love, and ogle at all the goodies I sent her.)

If you want to get involved with Foodie Pen Pals for the month of April, shoot Lindsay an email at theleangreenbean@gmail.com and let her know:
-Your full name
-Your email address
-Your blog name/address (if you have one)
-Your twitter handle (if applicable)
-Whether you are a U.S. or Canadian (or UK!) resident

I can’t wait to see what my next month’s match will bring. 🙂 Don’t forget to pop over to Lindsay’s blog for a roundup of all our Foodie Pen Pals posts. Happy Friday!!

8 thoughts on “March Foodie Pen Pals Reveal!

    • Right now I have a bunch cooked up in the fridge to add to things–I used chicken broth/stock to cook it in, which gave it a really nice, richer flavor. Last night I added some to the remains of some pasta leftovers that was a little short on the “pasta” part. It melded deliciously! I think I’m going to try adding some to salads, too, in addition to using it as a side to chicken, etc. Maybe I’ll try quinoa black bean burgers…:)!

Leave a Reply

