Summer Updates! … And an Announcement!

So the hideous heat waves sweeping the nation are not the only things keeping me from cooking and baking. I’ve had a lot going on these days!

…and one thing in particular. 😀

Let’s take a little peek, shall we?

I’m moving (again). But that’s not the most exciting thing in my life right now. (In fact it’s the total opposite of that–it gives me anxiety hives, hah.)

I’ve been writing a lot! My latest post on Big Girls Small Kitchen College is one that I’m really proud of, prouder than I have been of anything I’ve written in a while. I’ve gotten some really sweet feedback on it, and that makes my heart happy. 🙂

But you’re interested in my announcement, right? Okay, okay.

A very, very long time ago, I posted a tweet that looked like this. And I talked a little bit about my plans with a few individuals here and there…but I never made an “official” announcement about the big life change that’s coming up for me, which I’m so so excited about.

Stop right there. It has nothing to do with any of the things those other bloggers are making big announcements about. Don’t even think about it.

I’ve been working on this and vacillating about whether this would be the right choice for me since last fall.

And I finally decided!

I’m going back to grad school!

This fall, I’m starting my master’s (part-time, so I can keep my job) in Irish- and Irish-American Studies at NYU. I’ll be taking two night classes a week for the next two years, learning more about the literature and culture of Ireland and–the part I’m most excited about–the Irish language. Eee!

I have no intentions of calling it quits on this little bloggy here, but the products of my culinary adventures might take a decidedly more student-friendly turn. How do we feel about meals on the go and lots of midnight desserts? Hahaha. 😉

So, readers of mine, get ready for a lot of nerdy posts about buying back-to-school supplies and doing boatloads of reading and writing papers in the wee hours of the morning. I’m gonna love every freakin’ second.

21 thoughts on “Summer Updates! … And an Announcement!

  1. That’s great news! Good for you. I know you’ll do real well as it is your choice & I could read the enthusiasm in your post. Good Luck.

Leave a Reply

