No-Bake Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookie Dough Bites

August. The month that gives meaning to the term “the dog days of summer.” Like many of the other bloggers whose posts I read, I’m in total disbelief that it’s already halfway through the month–and that summer is nearly over. Now, don’t get me wrong, the days upon days of sweltering heat seem plenty long while I’m in ’em, but I turned around and all of you who’ve got kiddies are posting back-to-school pictures. What?!

(Nerd consolation: I’m going back to school this year too! Time to go to Staples!! Buying notebooks = one of my favorite things.)

I’m also convinced that August is the black hole of primetime television. All the shows I watch in the fall and winter are on hiatus, and I don’t have HBO to satisfy my new obsession with the Game of Thrones books by watching the TV show, too.

So where does that leave me? Let me tell you…Bachelor Pad.

I KNOW. Don’t click away, hear me out. My roommate got me into watching the regular seasons of Bachelor and Bachelorette (yay Jef!), and Bachelor Pad is like a train wreck you just can’t look away from, week after week. Sometimes I honestly can’t believe that these people led real lives before they came on the show. (Especially the “fans” they brought on the show this season. Really now?)

So as I’m watching my 20-something peers throw themselves down slides of hot fudge and continuously backstab one another solely for the purpose of creating drama, I need snackage. (That’s a word, isn’t it? It totally should be.) And while a jar of Nutella and a spoon are usually as classy as I get, sometimes I feel a little ambitious.

Enter these addictive no-bake bites! Let me tell you a few things about these lil cuties:
a) They require no stovetop, no oven, no heat source at.all. Perfect for August!
b) They’re actually really healthy! With old-fashioned oats, protein from the peanut butter, ground flaxseed, and sweetness from a combination of honey and maple syrup rather than pure sugar, you’ll feel a-ok popping more than one of these at a time.
c) I added a little chocolate…I’ve gotta balance the health a bit here, people.
d) Peanut butter. Chocolate. I don’t need to elaborate.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookie Dough Bites
Adapted from Fearless Homemaker

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup old-fashioned oatmeal
  • 1/4 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup Peanut Butter & Co Mighty Maple peanut butter
  • 3/4 cup ground flaxseed
  • 2 tbsp sugar-free maple syrup
  • 3 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup white chocolate chips

1. Place all ingredients except chocolate chips in a medium-sized bowl, and mix well with a wooden spoon.
2. When a dough begins to come together, fold in the chocolate chips.
3. Chill in the refrigerator for a least half an hour. Then roll mixture into tablespoon-sized balls. Store in an airtight container in the fridge!

Makes about 18-20 bites.

7 thoughts on “No-Bake Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookie Dough Bites

  1. yay, i’m so glad you made these + liked ’em! they’re one of my favorite easy no-bake snacks. and can you believe that, despite watching the bachelorette, i’ve yet to watch a season of Bachelor Pad? might have to change that…. =)

  2. Hahaha, I love shopping for notebooks too — good thing we’re both in school. 🙂

    I usually watch Bachelor and Bachelorette but haven’t gotten into Bachelor Pad at all — but I can see how it’d make for some quality mindless television!

Leave a Reply

