Women’s Health 10K: Run 10 Feed 10

Two posts in one week?! I know. But I couldn’t wait any longer to tell you about the race I ran this past weekend.

I haven’t run a long-distance race since my half-marathon back in the spring, so I’ve been looking for another challenge to take on. When I heard about the Women’s Health Run 10 Feed 10 race during Good Morning America one day, it sounded like the perfect event for me!

As someone who counts volunteering as one of the best uses of her time, finding out that the registration fee and all fundraising for the Run 10 Feed 10 went to feed hungry New Yorkers was an exciting discovery. I provided ten meals just by signing up!

Unlike my half, I didn’t really train for this race.There were lots of weekends where I was traveling or had family commitments, so consistent long runs didn’t really happen leading up to race day. I was a little nervous, but I comforted myself with the knowledge that when I did clock longer distances, I was doing six or seven miles easily–hopefully the 6.2-mile race wouldn’t eviscerate me. 😉

So this past Sunday, Charlie and I set out at the literal crack of dawn (5 a.m. alarms are no joke, people) for the West Side Highway, where the race began. The course was awesome–it started right in the shadow of the Intrepid, and wound down along Chelsea Piers all the way to Tribeca. But yeesh, was it bloody cold. The wind was whipping off the Hudson, and given the 7 a.m. start time, dawn hadn’t had much chance to warm the air temperature yet.

(Can you tell I’m a little chilly?)

I loved the dynamic warm-up we did as a group–a yoga instructor came in and did some stretching and core movement with us that really got my muscles loose. So important to do before and after running!

The first three miles were much easier than I expected them to be. The wind was with me, and I was out ahead of the pack a bit. I didn’t even realize until I got to the three-mile marker that I was halfway through the race! Turns out they hadn’t gotten the first two mile markers up by the time I passed them, so I was a lot further along than I thought. Convenient!

Now, shall we see the photo finish?

Thankfully, the best cheerleader ever was also able to snap these questionably attractive (ha) photos of me as I came down the final chute. Looking like I want to die, mind you, because the last three miles were into the wind. Oof. I was pretty sure the latter half of the race killed me. At least it sure felt like it did…

Check that out! I averaged a 7:53 mile!! And I was 10th in my age bracket (of which I was the old lady, might I add). And 32nd among all the women runners! End excessive use of exclamation points. (Also, I enjoy Charlie’s look of intense concentration as he photographs the results screen. Well done, hon.)

So there we have it–another race in the books. I’m really proud! I never thought I could be a “real” runner, and even though I know I don’t have to break any records to feel like one, the fact that I’m actually improving feels pretty darn good. Woohoo!

——-

P.S. Start getting excited now! On Monday, October 1, I’ll be participating in a scrumptious blog party with Erin, Katrina, and Christina. The theme? BYOBrownies.

I promise I’ll be bringing a tasty treat to the party…here are two hints: it will completely negate that race I ran, and it celebrates my love of all things fall. 🙂

9 thoughts on “Women’s Health 10K: Run 10 Feed 10

  1. Wow!!! You are AWESOME!! I am new to running and actually have my very first 5K on Sunday. I’m SO excited! I’ve been averaging an 11 minute mile which stinks but I’ll just be proud to finish the race 😉 Hope some day to manage longer distances at a much quicker pace. Congratulations on your race!

Leave a Reply

