Brown Butter Kitchen Sink Cookies

kitchensinkcookies

I’m a stress baker.

You can all sympathize, right? I’m thinking specifically of my senior year of college, just before winter break, when I had one massive exam the next day. Let’s be clear–I was an English major. We didn’t do exams. We did papers. Write you 15 gorgeous pages on Joyce’s Ulysses? Sign me up. Multiple-choice questions, concept IDs, and timed short answer questions?! Not. So. Much.

So there, I was, trying to memorize a semester’s worth of political philosophy in one night, and what was I doing? Melting butter, measuring sugar, covering our apartment kitchen in flour, and adding an extra handful of chocolate chips.

And here I am, a grad student now, and what am I doing tonight? Oh yeah, finishing my last paper. My presents aren’t wrapped, I haven’t packed yet, and don’t even ask me what I’m wearing to Christmas dinner. But you know what I did do on Wednesday?

I baked three dozen of these bad boys. And I packaged them up in the adorable gift boxes (which my dear friend Cayce gave me) for my coworkers! Elfing > paper writing.

Hopefully none of you are suffering from last-minute holiday stress. But if you do happen to be in need of some more sweets for next week’s festivities…here’s one more cookie recipe before Santa comes down the chimney. Twist my arm, why don’tcha. 😉

kitchensinkcookies2

Kitchen Sink Cookies
Adapted from Mountain Mama Cooks

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 14 tbsp butter (I used 10 tbsp unsalted and 4 tbsp Land O Lakes Butter with Olive Oil & Sea Salt)
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg + 1 egg yolk
  • 1/2 cup butterscotch chips
  • 1/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup M&Ms

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat.
2. Whisk together flours, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl. Set aside.
3. In a saucepan over medium heat, heat butter until melted. Continue to cook butter, stirring occasionally, until it turns golden brown and small flecks begin to form on the bottom of the pan (this usually takes me about five minutes). You’ll also start to smell a slightly nutty scent when the butter reaches the browning stage.
4. Add brown butter to the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Add sugars and vanilla, then mix on medium speed until fully combined.
5. Add egg and egg yolk; continue to mix until incorporated.
6. Add dry ingredients to the bowl of the mixer and beat on low until the ingredients are just combined–do not overmix. Use a spatula to stir in M&Ms, chocolate chips, and butterscotch chips.
7. Refrigerate dough for 30 minutes to 1 hour. Then, using a 2-inch cookie scoop, arrange dough on prepared cookie sheet.
8. Bake for 8-10 minutes, until edges are just golden brown and the tops of cookies are set. Allow to cool for 2 minutes on baking sheet, then remove to wire rack to cool completely.

I find these cookies are best the next day, once the brown butter flavor has had time to deepen! Store them in an airtight container…if there are any left. 😉

I hope you and your families have wonderful holidays filled with love, cheer, and sweets. See you in 2013!

6 thoughts on “Brown Butter Kitchen Sink Cookies

Leave a Reply

