It’s Going to Be a Happy 2013

Howdy, friends! It’s been quite a while since my last post.

I had a lovely time over the holidays with my family and friends (those are my lovely college roommates below), ate a ton of really delicious food, and spent a lot of quality time on Amtrak.

CCC_2012

I did a lot of thinking about the past year, especially about this blog. Here are a few tidbits:

Developing a stronger network. Volunteering at IACP, attending Pie Party Live and the NYC Holiday Cookie Swap, and writing for Big Girls Small Kitchen College helped me meet and strike up relationships with a ton of fascinating new people. I can only hope 2013 brings more of the same!

Thinking more about photos (or trying to). I’ve been making an effort to use my limited resources as best I can–using natural light (when I’m home during daylight hours), thinking about the composition of the photos, and keeping an eye out for any cute props. I’ve been pretty pleased, so hopefully I can continue to get better…at least till I splurge on a camera. :)

Keeping my writing strong. Especially in light of how crazy things got toward the end of 2012, it was tempting to slap a recipe on the page and hit “publish.” But I try to remind myself that the reason I got started with this–aside from the fact that I love all forms of baked good–was to tell a story, to have a place to air my thoughts. And a huge part of the reason I love so many of my friends’ blogs is their compelling writing. I want to be proud of what I create, too.

All of the above will be an even bigger challenge this year because, as of Monday morning, I’ve got a new job! It’s only been two days, but I’m learning a ton and am really enjoying getting to know all of my new coworkers. My boss even put this blog in her welcome email to the rest of the company–eek! (If you’re one of my new coworkers–welcome! I promise I’ll bring cookies to the office soon.) I really feel like I took a huge step in the right direction for my career. Thanks to all of you on social media who offered well wishes!

I’ll be back next week with some yummy treats, but in the meantime I’ll be up to my eyeballs in background reading for my job and trying to figure out how on EARTH to put on stockings without ripping a hole in them every single time. (Seriously, ladies?! I know that they make us look classy and fabulous, but you can’t deny that they’re a pain in the tush.)

5 thoughts on “It’s Going to Be a Happy 2013

Leave a Reply

