Triple Chocolate Quick Bread {{Giveaway}} [closed]

chocolate loaf 3a

One of my favorite things about Valentine’s Day is the chocolate. PSA to my boyfriend (as if he didn’t already know): a holiday that encourages the consumption of chocolate in any form provides you with a guaranteed way to make me smile.

I know we’re still a couple of weeks out, but I figure some of you out there might be trying to plan a treat to make for the ones you love on February 14. Dare I suggest this triple chocolate quick bread? You can serve it as a sweet breakfast-in-bed item, or break it out for dessert (top it with a scoop of ice cream–calories consumed on holidays don’t count).

This loaf/cake came about because I spent last weekend in Philadelphia, visiting a dear friend and helping with wedding planning. It was a wonderful trip, complete with an outing for tea sandwiches, scones, and clotted cream (highly recommend this place if you’re in the area!), and I even got to take a turn around my old college campus.

I brought this quick bread to my friend’s family as a thank you for hosting me, and we all enjoyed it for breakfast last Saturday morning. While it might be more appropriately called a “cake,” deeming this treat a “quick bread” totally makes it acceptable to eat with your tea or coffee…and I can’t be held responsible for how much of it is gone by noon.

I may have cut myself an extra thick slice. After all, I don’t have to fit in a bridesmaid dress until October…

Triple Chocolate Quick Bread
Adapted from Nestle

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup white whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (I used Scharffen Berger)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar, packed
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup buttermilk*
  • 1/3 cup semisweet chocolate chunks (I used Scharffen Berger 62% cacao)
  • 1/3 cup mini chocolate chips

*I made buttermilk by letting 1 tbsp white vinegar stand in just less than 1 cup of skim milk for 5 minutes.

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and spray a 9×5 inch loaf pan with cooking spray.
2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flours, cocoa powder, salt, baking powder, and baking soda. Set aside.
3. Cream butter and sugars in another bowl until smooth. Add eggs one by one and beat until each is incorporated. Add vanilla and continue to mix.
4. Add half of the dry mixture, mix, then pour in half the buttermilk. Continue to mix, alternating the addition of dry and wet, until batter is smooth and no dry streaks remain.
5. Fold in the chocolate chunks. Pour batter into greased loaf pan. Lick spatula.
6. Bake for 15 minutes, then remove from oven and sprinkle mini chocolate chips over the top of the partially baked bread.
7. Return to the oven for another 25-30 minutes, until a toothpick or knife inserted in the center of the loaf comes out clean.
8. Let cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes, then turn out of the pan to cool completely on the wire rack.

chocolate loaf 2

Now, how about that giveaway?? [The giveaway is closed, and the winner has been notified!] The lovely folks at Scharffen Berger have graciously volunteered to send a chocolate prize pack to one of my readers. You’ll receive:

  • Unsweetened Natural Cocoa Powder
  • Folio Box of Scharffen Berger Tasting Squares
  • Scharffen Berger Baking Chunks
  • Assorted Scharffen Berger eating bars

SB-nibblybars

SB-collage2

Sound good to you? To enter:

MANDATORY: Leave a comment below and tell me, What are your plans for Valentine’s Day? (They don’t have to include a significant other! If you’re treating yourself to manicure for V-Day, I would tell you to rock on.)

For additional entries (you must leave a comment for each additional entry**):

Subscribe to Chip Chip Hooray via RSS or email.
Follow @ChipChipHooray on Twitter
Tweet about the giveaway, tagging @ChipChipHooray, and link to this post.
Like Chip Chip Hooray on Facebook
Pin with me on Pinterest
Follow me and check out what I’m up to on Instagram

That’s seven possible ways to win a ton of tasty Scharffen Berger chocolate!

**Important: I’ve had trouble with comments getting through on this blog in the past. If you’re trying to enter and having issues with comments, send me an email and let me know.

Giveaway details:
–This giveaway is open to residents of United States only (sorry again, UK friends!) and will run until from Tuesday, January 29, until Tuesday, February 5, at 11:59 pm EST.
–Winner will be determined via a random number generator software program. Winner will be notified via the contact email provided on the comment contact form.
–Winner will have until Thursday, February 7, to respond to my email and claim their chocolate prize pack or another winner will be chosen and contacted.
–Prize will be shipped directly to the winner’s address by Scharffen Berger.

Disclaimer: This giveaway was sponsored by Scharffen Berger. I received an identical chocolate shipment to sample, but as always, all opinions are my own.

98 thoughts on “Triple Chocolate Quick Bread {{Giveaway}} [closed]

  1. Our plans for Valentine’s Day include a night out to dinner. The Mr. bought me a gift on etsy, and somehow, the seller recognized him and then emailed me to thank me for my purchase. She ruined the surprised 😦 Crazy, huh?

  2. Well, the weekend before I am going to visit my BF in PA (because flights were cheaper that weekend than the weekend of). But for the actual day of Vday, I might cook dinner for a couple friends. I did it last year too, it was fun.

  3. At the moment we do not have any plans. It is the day we got engaged 15 yrs ago and actually it is the day we had our first date 19 yrs ago. So probably we will go out for dinner.

  4. My husband and I will cook a nice dinner, or maybe get carry-out, depending upon our mood. I’ll make a chocolate treat for dessert. We’ll curl up on the couch and watch a movie.

  5. The day before, my two kids and I will go to my mom’s daycare to join them for their Valentine’s party 🙂 I’m not sure yet what the hubby and I might do…we are overdue for a date night, so we might just go out for a nice dinner on Saturday or Sunday afterwards, when he is done with his work week!

  6. My Valentines day plan is cooking something for dinner with my hubby and making some type of dessert after the kids go to sleep.

  7. My husband and i don’t have any plans for Valentine’s Day! My birthday is the 15th, so we’ve always gone out that night. I used to feel duped, but now I’m used to it:) might make something for him at home.

  8. Ah ha! I remember this bread from instagram! So delicious! As for V-day plans. I have none other than the usually hanging with Liam all day and waiting for Logan to get home from school and work! 😀 Yay! We may…we will be incorporating chocolate into some sort of dessert, I’m sure. 😉

  9. We are taking my 15yo son to the oral surgeon for a biopsy (they will pull his wisdom teeth to do it), so I don’t think we’ll be doing much celebrating. Hopefully, there’ll be something good to celebrate soon!

  10. I looove quick breads, and i’ve been seeing lots of chocolate ones popping up on blogs recently … or maybe I’m just noticing them more now since I’ve turned into a mega chocoholic. Yours looks fab – want a slice right now!

Leave a Reply

