Rosemary & Sea Salt Olive Oil Cookies

rosemary cookies 2a

Remain calm. You are, in fact, on the correct blog. These cookies are definitely unique–and very different from what you’re used to seeing on this blog. There’s no butter in them. No brown sugar. They’re downright savory cookies. But y’know, they happen to be Charlie’s hands-down favorite thing I’ve ever made. So I figured they warranted a blog appearance.

Charlie is usually so patient with my cookie experiments, but this time I decided to just give him the cookies he’s been hinting at for the past year. I was visiting him to celebrate two things: a) his performance in Into the Woods, which is his last show before he graduates next month, and b) his picking an amazing PhD program to start in the fall, complete with funding, a TAship, and a stipend. I’m not usually the type to brag, but I’m really proud of him. 🙂

So what do I do when I’m proud? I feed people. These cookies aren’t my typical fare. The flavors pack a punch, but the sweetness is far from in your face, and the interaction of crunchy sea salt and rich olive oil and tangy rosemary is complex and altogether interesting. It’s like the haute couture of cookie-eating experiences.

I think these cookies are a fine welcome for the springtime that has finally decided to arrive. Fresh flavors, fresh season!

Rosemary & Sea Salt Olive Oil Cookies
Recipe slightly adapted from Bramblings

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup granulated white sugar, plus 1/4 cup for dusting
  • 3-4 tbsp fresh rosemary leaves
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp coarse sea salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F and line baking sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat.
2. In a mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, blend olive oil, sugar, and rosemary leaves until combined. Add two eggs and continue to mix until eggs are completely incorporated and emulsified (the batter will be light yellow and almost look like lemon curd at this point).
3. Add flour, salt, and baking soda directly to the bowl and mix until dough comes together. It will be sticky–you’ll need to stop the mixer and clear the whisk with a spatula once or twice. Make sure you scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl to get all the dry ingredients.
4. Using a two-inch cookie scoop, separate balls of dough. If desired, roll in extra granulated sugar before placing on baking sheet.
5. Bake for 11-12 minutes, until the edges of the cookies are just starting to brown. Let cool completely on a wire rack.

Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

rosemary cookies

16 thoughts on “Rosemary & Sea Salt Olive Oil Cookies

  1. Big congratulations to Charlie! I think you have every right to be very proud of him & to feed him lots and lots of cookies! I love rosemary so I think these cookies would be right up my street. Delicious!

  2. These cookies are lovely!! I adore herbs in desserts and the olive oil is a wonderful addition too, I’ve never had it in cookies but I love it in cakes so I can imagine how good these cookies must taste.

Leave a Reply

