Divine Dark Chocolate Chunk Brownies

Brownies 2

The No Kid Hungry bake sale is one of my favorite events of the year – which is why I’m bummed it took me this long to tell you about it! But alas, the bake sale happened to fall at the same time as both finals and a major freelance project. Oh, and normal work. Woof. (I know, I know, you’re all sick of me complaining how busy I am when it’s self-inflicted. Sorry.)

I always credit the NKH bake sale as what got me started blogging, back when I first met Maggy, Amber, and Lillian. It’s exciting to see the same group of blogging friends year after year now, and to watch the sale grow from a folding table outside of Kiehl’s to a central booth at the Brooklyn Flea. We’re movin’ on up, guys!

NYCBakeSale_2013_WebBanner

The bake sale donates all of its profits to Share Our Strength’s No Kid Hungry campaign, which is working to end childhood hunger in America by providing healthy food for kids each and every day. Among other things, they educate and empower low-income families to stretch their food budgets so their kids get healthy meals at home. Participants learn to shop strategically, use nutrition information to make healthier food choices, and cook delicious, affordable meals. What an awesome cause!

I was super excited this year when Lillian offered the opportunity to partner with Divine Chocolate for our recipes. Divine is a fair-trade company that’s actually co-owned by cocoa farmers from Ghana. The cocoa beans used by Divine Chocolate are hand-harvested by the family farmers of the Kuapa Kokoo cooperative. Farmers receive a fair-trade premium that is invested in their communities and a share in the profits that provides extra income and opportunity for their families.

And what’s even cooler is that two of the wonderful cocoa farmers visited us at the bake sale to meet the bloggers who had used their chocolate. We even got to share samples with them–what an honor!

Bake sale 4

5-Afriye-Tara IMG_3903

I also love having the chance to spend time with bloggers I only see a few times a year. Hanging out with Hazel, Melissa, Kelly, Jackie, Jenn, and the rest of the foodie gang is always a treat (no pun intended). And while enjoying the gorgeous Saturday together, we were able to meet–and exceed–our goal of raising $3,000 for No Kid Hungry. Hooray! Thanks so much to Lillian and Ken for organizing another wonderful sale. (Didn’t get to join us? You can still donate online to support our cause!)

Bake sale friends

Divine Dark Chocolate Chunk Brownies
Adapted from Shugary Sweets

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (I used Divine)
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup bittersweet chocolate chunks (I used Divine)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and spray an 8×8 Pyrex pan with baking spray.
2. Melt butter in a microwave-safe bowl in 30-second increments. Pour into medium bowl and add sugars, flour, cocoa powder, and eggs.
3. Combine ingredients with a wooden spoon until no streaks remain – don’t overmix. Then fold in the chocolate chunks.
4. Pour brownie batter into greased pan and bake for 20-23 minutes, until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. (Watch them closely! You don’t want to overbake these. I tend to set my timer for two minutes lower than the time a recipe tells me, then check them every couple of minutes after that. My oven is also hotter than the inside of the sun, so I’ve burned many a cookie.)
5. Let cool completely in the pan before slicing. Enjoy!

Makes about 16 brownies.

Brownies 3

Disclaimer: I received assorted Divine Chocolate products to use while creating my bake sale contribution. But my opinions about the company and its cause are, of course, my own.

8 thoughts on “Divine Dark Chocolate Chunk Brownies

  1. Your brownies were delicious and I’m so thankful that I got to see you, if only for a little bit! Also, how amazing is it that you got to meet the cocoa farmers who harvested something in another part of the world that ended up in your brownies? Absolutely wild! (but wonderful 🙂

  2. Love that you used Divine chocolate for these – it’s one of my favourites. The bake sale sounds like such a wonderful thing to be part of and you guys have raised so much money. Well done!

  3. Pingback: Hungry Rabbit – 4th Annual Food Blogger Bake Sale

  4. Pingback: Another Year, Another Successful Bake Sale! | (Mainly) Gluten Free in NYC

Leave a Reply

