Biscoff White Chocolate Chip Pancakes

For me? Pancakes are the ultimate comfort food. Sweet, but not overly so; reminiscent of childhood meals where you were in disbelief that you actually got to have cake for breakfast. And now that I live on my own? Pancakes are my favorite reminder that–as a grown-up–I totally get to have dinner drenched in syrup if I want to.

I was feeling really under the weather yesterday, and after what felt like the longest workday in the world, all I wanted was food that would be easy on my tummy and feel like the culinary equivalent of a big hug.

As I watched Rachel’s pancake party unfold last month, the list of fantastic recipes I wanted to try grew to be a mile long. And after contemplating using a just-add-water pancake mix for about 15 seconds, the itch to use this recipe totally won out. I tweaked Julie‘s version just a tad–most notably by adding a sweet pop of white chocolate chips to pair with the Biscoff pancake–and the result was a dinner that was 100 percent successful in lifting my spirits (and in giving me the energy to pack a few more boxes–T minus four days till my move!).

Biscoff White Chocolate Chip Pancakes
Adapted from Table for Two

Ingredients:

  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tbsp light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup Biscoff spread
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup white chocolate chips (or to taste)

1. In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together egg, sugar, Biscoff, and melted butter until incorporated. Then whisk in the milk.
2. In a separate, smaller bowl, whisk together the flours, baking powder, and salt.
3. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and whisk together until a batter forms (some lumps are okay, but make sure the flour is completely whisked in).
4. Heat a griddle or skillet over low to medium heat, then grease with butter or cooking spray. Ladle batter onto hot skillet (about 1/4 cup of batter per pancake) and sprinkle chocolate chips on top.
5. Let one side of the pancake cook until bubbles begin to form and pop, then flip to cook the other side for about another 45 seconds-1 minute.
6. Serve with any desired toppings–I chose sugar-free maple syrup, but these would be pretty darn fabulous with any sweet spread or glaze.

Serves 2–about 4-6 pancakes.

22 thoughts on “Biscoff White Chocolate Chip Pancakes

Leave a comment