NYC Eats: Molly’s Cupcakes

A couple of weekends ago, I was lucky enough to have one of my closest college friends come to New York to visit. In addition to doing the “typical” city stuff like taking in the Met, wandering through Central Park, and waiting waaaay too long for the subways thanks to those pesky weekend schedules, my friend C also made it clear that she expected there to be some fabulous cupcakes making an appearance in our day.

Well, I mean, if you’re going to twist my arm…

Molly’s Cupcakes has a brightly colored storefront in one of the most delicious areas of NYC’s Greenwich Village. When you walk inside, the whimsical interior decorations perfectly complement the exterior. And then…oh, then you’re sucked in by the mouth-watering cupcake display cases.

Swings for seats! So fun.

Molly’s offers a staggering array of center-filled cupcakes, as well as a “Make Your Own” option utilizing their classic cake flavors and frostings. C and I headed straight for those filled beauties. Can you blame us?

Have I mentioned lately how much I love filled cupcakes? My Cookie Monster featured a vanilla cake studded with chocolate chips, a vanilla buttercream frosting, and a core of decadently sweet cookie dough filling. Add chocolate chips and a soft, chewy mini cookie as garnish? I’m smitten.

Normally, I’m all about the icing, and this is often because the cupcake stem gets dried out, or crumbly, or just can’t live up to its toppings. This wasn’t the case with Molly’s–I enjoyed the moist and sweet cake bites just as much as I did the icing dollops. A big admission for this cupcake connoisseur!

C’s Kahlua Cupcake will please any coffee-lovers out there. A chocolate cake was filled with kahlua cream and frosted with coffee buttercream, then garnished with dark chocolate shavings. Rich flavors sure to give you a buzz!

I can’t wait for my next trip to Molly’s–I don’t think I’ll be able to live with myself until I’ve tried the Ron Bennington (chocolate cake, peanut butter filling, topped with ganache and butterscotch. HECK. to the. YES). If you’re wandering New York, head to Molly’s to satisfy your sugar craving!

Molly’s Cupcakes
228 Bleecker St.
New York, NY 10014

18 thoughts on “NYC Eats: Molly’s Cupcakes

  1. Those swings are absolutely adorable! I’ve never been to NYC, but it’s definitely on my travel bucket list and when I’m there, cupcakes (and this bakery!) will definitely be on my to-do list 🙂

  2. Whenever I go to New York, the truth is I always end up spending more time eating than actually seeing the city – – this cupcakery is on my list for my next visit 🙂

  3. I have never had a better cupcake in my life! every time I visit my college pals in NY we go there. Try the unbelievable apple pie cupcake, and the butterscotch caramel. Sweet and salty. Amazing!

  4. There is a vegan ice cream store in NYC that is amazing.. called Lula’s Sweet Apothecary. I am not even vegan and it was some of the best ice cream i have ever had! I love NYC!

Leave a Reply

