Easy Strawberry Chiffon Pie (aka Mother’s Day “Pink Pie”)

Well, we’re a little behind here at Chip Chip Hooray. I know Mother’s Day was this past Sunday, but I had quite the busy weekend! I scooted to Philadelphia for a party at my alma mater (a post solely dedicated to that epic cake is in the works) and then spent all Sunday with family, celebrating my mom and the baptism of my cousin’s baby daughter. Whew!

So even though this pie got made for Mother’s Day (and is pretty much all eaten by now), it’s only just making an appearance in the blogosphere this week. That’s life, right?

Anyways, this pie holds a special place in my mom’s (and my) heart. It’s a recipe that her mother (my grandma, the chef behind these hearty and comforting boxty) used to make for my cousins when they were really little, but my mom loved it too. It’s incredibly simple, but that’s the way my grandma rolled–much like a lot of immigrants of her time, I’ve found, she totally embraced American conveniences. No-boil lasagna noodles? Fantastic. Instant Jell-o and Cool Whip? Bring it on. There was a time and place for potato peeling and grating…but this sure as heck wasn’t it.

This may not be the fanciest or most complicated dessert, but seeing my mom’s excitement when I walked in with this dish and having her exclaim, “Oh, pink pie!!” is so much more important to me. Happy Mother’s Day, Mom! I love you!

Easy Strawberry Chiffon Pie (aka Mother’s Day “Pink Pie”)

Ingredients:

  • 1 graham cracker pie crust (or use a premade crust–totally Mom-mom’s MO)
  • 2/3 cup boiling water
  • 1 package Jell-o strawberry gelatin mix (can use sugar free if desired)
  • 1/2 cup cold water
  • ice cubes
  • 1 container Cool Whip Free whipped topping, divided (can use regular)

1. If baking pie crust from scratch, make sure the crust is completely cooled. (I made mine the night before and kept it in an airtight container.)
2. In a large bowl, stir boiling water into dry gelatin mix and whisk for at least 2 minutes, until gelatin is completely dissolved.
3. Measure out 1/2 cup of cold water in a 1-cup measuring cup. Add enough ice cubes to the cup to measure 1 cup.
4. Add ice and water to the dissolved gelatin, then continue to whisk until the mixture thickens slightly (this will take a few minutes). Scoop out any small pieces of unmelted ice with a fork.
5. Add two cups of Cool Whip topping and whisk together until well blended. Place bowl in the refrigerator for 30 minutes, until mixture is set thickly and will mound.
6. Spoon strawberry mousse mixture into crust and smooth with a rubber spatula. Refrigerate for 4 hours (or overnight) until firm.
7. Just before serving, garnish pie with the remaining Cool Whip topping. Slice and enjoy!

Makes about 8 servings. Pie can be stored covered with plastic wrap in the refrigerator for up to a week.

9 thoughts on “Easy Strawberry Chiffon Pie (aka Mother’s Day “Pink Pie”)

Leave a Reply

