Blueberry-Banana-Almond Baked Oatmeal

baked oatmeal bb4a

Sometimes I think weekends exist out of time.

I lose track of what day (and often hour) it is. After a week of blow-drying my hair every morning and almost getting eaten by my diffuser, my hair sits atop my head in a ponytail or (if I’m feeling really ratty) a topknot. I begin to call a cookie a meal. The miracle of brunch makes alcohol acceptable before noon. And since I don’t yet have my company-issued phone, I’m not instantaneously accessible to my colleagues.

It’s glorious, really. Except for when your alarm goes off on Tuesday morning (since this was a long weekend, thanks to the Rev. Dr. MLK) and your friends aren’t coming over for biscuits and mimosas, your hair really seriously needs to be washed, and you don’t even want to consider the state of your work email inbox.

That’s when you need to have breakfast in the fridge. Waiting for you. And it’s even healthy breakfast, people.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to go brave the knots in my curls.

baked oatmeal bb

Blueberry-Banana-Almond Baked Oatmeal
Adapted from Skinnytaste

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium ripe banana, sliced
  • 1 1/2 cup frozen blueberries, divided
  • 1 tbsp honey plus 1/4 cup (divided use)
  • 1 cup uncooked quick oats
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds, divided
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/4 tsp cinnamon, divided
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
2. Layer banana slices on the bottom of an 8×8 glass Pyrex. Sprinkle half the blueberries (3/4 cup), 1 tbsp honey, and 1/4 tsp cinnamon over the top. Cover with foil and bake 15 minutes, until fruit has softened.
3. While the fruit is baking, whisk together oats, 1/4 cup almonds, baking powder, remaining 1 tsp cinnamon, and salt together in a small bowl.
4. In another small bowl, whisk together milk, egg, vanilla extract, and 1/4 cup honey. Set aside.
5. Remove fruit from oven after 15 minutes and top with oat mixture. Pour wet ingredients over the oat mixture, trying to distribute as evenly as possible.
6. Sprinkle remaining 1/4 cup of almonds and 3/4 cup of blueberries on top. Bake for 30 minutes, until oatmeal begins to brown on the edges. Serve hot from the oven, or package up to reheat for breakfasts during the week.

Makes about 6 breakfast servings, depending on how hungry you are.

Happy Tuesday!

4 thoughts on “Blueberry-Banana-Almond Baked Oatmeal

  1. I so know what you mean. Alarm clocks? On a Sunday? Not on my watch!

    Love, love, love this idea! Breakfast is so tough when you leave your house as early as I do- I’ve been looking for make ahead breakfast ideas. Totally trying this!

Leave a comment